top of page

About us

CEPA is back after a lull in student life due to the ongoing Coronavirus Pandemic. The CEPA Interim Committee consists of 3 postgraduate students.

Have your say or join up!

We are actively looking for additional CEPA committee members, please email us at:

If you'd prefer to leave anonymous feedback, please use leave feedback at

this linked page


CEPA Committee


Declan McNamara


Declan is a final-year PhD candidate from Melbourne working on anode coatings for lithium-sulphur batteries under Matthew Hill and Mainak Majumder. In his free time he enjoys Thai kickboxing, calisthenics, half learning languages (he’s up to four) and listening to very shouty music.


Michael Scalzo

Vice President

Michael is a second-year PhD student from Melbourne working on alkane-alkene separations for the hydrogen economy under Matthew Hill and Tim Scott. In his free time, he partakes in futsal, Thai kickboxing, marathon running, camping and hiking.

Laila Halim Headshot Square.jpg

Laila Halim

General Member

Laila is a first year PhD student from Melbourne working on advanced plastic recycling under Matthew Hill and Leonie van’t Hag. In her free time, she enjoys circus, listening to live music, and spending time in nature.

bottom of page